Remembering Dan.   Leave a comment

“So  I say  thank you for the music

The songs I’m singing

Thanks for all the  joy they’re bringing

Who can live without,  it  I  ask it in all honesty

What would life be?

Without   a song or  a dance what are we?

So I say thank you for the music, for giving it to me.”

~ Thank You  For The Music  Mamma Mia

 

 

I have been having so much trouble coming up with the words to properly capture  how I feel  about  Dan Wolaver passing away.  I couldn’t speak at the services today because  I did not feel  I was ready to talk yet about how much he has meant to Matt and I.   Listening to the song  Thank You For The Music from Mamma Mia   (quoted above) finally allowed me to gather my thoughts.

I joined  SVC in  Fall 2014 and Matt joined the following  fall semester in 2015.   Everyone   was very welcoming to us  especially  Dan.    We both have found a second family  within the chorus and are so happy for all the friendships we have made.  Dan’s guidance  was  very important to both of us.  The last time  that that I saw him  he came over to my apartment with  suggestions for songs we could use for  future duet auditions and also gave us  an arrangement of  I’m  A  Believer from Shrek The Musical that can be used as a quartet.    Unfortunately we could  not audition for the  Showcase since we will be going to   at a wedding  but we are planning to audition for the Milford Pumpkin Festival talent show in September. Name of quartet is to be announced but of course it will be  a Shrek related quartet name.    Our audition and performance if we get chosen will be  dedicated to Dan’s memory.    Dan also  put a poem  I wrote  called Angels On My  Shoulder to sheet music which  I hope to be able to perform at some point.  Matt  also  added that  Dan got  him involved with reading music and what  the terminology meant and is  grateful for that.

 

So yes indeed, Dan  thank you for the music and all you have done for SVC.   Everyone in SVC will miss you very much but  I think Matt and I will miss you the most of all. We love you.

Leave a Reply

