15th Annual NH Theatre Awards   Leave a comment

Shows  I saw or performed in   during 2016 that were nominated  for NH Theatre Award

Full List of NHTA Winners can be found here: http://nhtheatreawards.org/results/

Actorsingers

Spamalot

Best Costune Design  Allison Sklarz  Top 10

Best Lighting  Design   Mike O’Keefe  Top 10

Best  Musical  Direction     Judy Hayward   Top 10

Jessica Dee  Top 3  Best Supporting Actress   Lady Of The Lake

Colin Malette  Top 3  Best Actor  Patsy

Mike  O’Keefe   Best Sound Desinger Top 10

Joe Paoni     Best Actor   as Drew   Top 10

Britney Lynne Stanley  Best Choreography  Top 10

Rock  Of Ages

James Middleton  Best Supporting Actor  Lonny  Top 10

Melissa Runde    Best Supporting Actress    Justice Charlier  Top 10

Best  Costume Design  Allison Skalarz  Top 10

Ashely Swanson  Best Actress  Top 10

 

New London Barn Playhouse   Shrek The Musical

Matt and I adjudicated this show  for  a regional theatre award   The Moss Hart Award at the  end of July.   I was very happy to see that  the people  that I  reviewed so highly in my   adjudication for the Moss Hart Award  won New Hampshire Theatre Awards.  That was a very proud  New London Barn Playhouse Alumni moment for me.  I am always so impressed every year when  I go up there to see what  the current interns are working so hard on.    All awards on  by  both  actors  and  production team were well deserved.

 

Amherst PTA  Shrek was nominated for 8 awards last night.  I was  so incredibly   blessed  to have been among the cast of so many talented people many who  I have worked alongside on stage and backstage for  the past several years.   Eric Skoglund  won for best supporting actor for  playing  Lord Farquaad and  I was so excited and  happy for him  when  I heard his name  called.  He really deserved that award.   It was  my first year working with him and he was awesome to work with.  I also was honored to perform on stage  at the awards show  in Ballad  Of  Farquaad  number…it was a new experience for me  and admittedly   I was nervous because it was my first time performing in the NHTAS.   Overall it was  fun and  I was happy to be a part of it and perform with my  fellow Shrekkies one last  time to honor an amazing show that had so much personal meaning to me.

Last night was  a beautiful  celebration of all  community and professional  theatre productions around the state.   The president of the Theatre Awards said so eloquently  in  her closing statements  at the end of the awards show  how the theatre is a safe and accepting place for everyone.   I  could not agree with her more about that.  I feel like ever since I got involved with doing  shows with the PTA  six years ago I have found my home and my family.  These people  have watched me grow and supported me  in my craft….especially in this new experience with performing at the NHTAs.   A recent article  I read states that the Trump Adminstration wants to get  rid of the National Endowment For The Arts which  is money for theatre comes  from.  This makes me fearful about the future of theatre.

Congratulations to all top 3 winners and finalists. You are amazing and I am proud to know all of you!

 

Here is a link to the speech   I mentioned above.:

https://www.facebook.com/notes/the-granite-stage/you-are-the-storytellers-the-dreamers-you-are-the-players-who-say-this-stage-thi/1325032007553730

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

