Update   Leave a comment

 Lots going  on lately 

First of  all.. non theatre related news, The job search presses on and  I seem to be stuck in  rut. Sometimes it is hard to not get discouraged. Earlier this afternoon   I had an  interview at  Nashua Center  for a receptionist position.   It went really well.  I think this would be a great place to work. I find out on  Wednesday  if  I got the position. This would be a fantastic job for me.   Nashua  Center is place  in Nashua which provides services for people with disabilities.   Keeping fingers crossed. 

Summer has been filled with job searching, vacations and  lots of theatre going.  I was on vacation for a week at the beginnning of July and then took a mini-vacation to Meredith  to see Princess K.I.M. The Musical Junior and Miss Saigon at Interlakes Summer Theatre.   I was really proud of the Junior  Intern Company at Interalkes Summer Theatre for how well they did with  Princess  K.I.M. The Musical   Junior.   Miss Saigon was certainly   a poweful  piece of musical theatre  but  I found the subject matter to be a a bit depresing.   During my vacation in Hull  I went to the American  Idol  concert in  Boston with Julie and Jen.  The concert was pretty amazing.     AS the tickets for the concert were very expensive  I have a lot of doubt  I will go to the concert  next year….or that I will even watch American Idol at all since I have generally lost interest in watching it. 

 

August  started off with a bang.   I  tried to organize  a  get together with the PTA  people but  due to schedules it did not work out  so  I had to cancel it.  They aren’t doing the karaoke party at Jasper Valley anymore which is kind of let down/   I’ve  really looked forward to that the past couple of years.

I have seen three shows in the past couple  weeks and they have all been fantastic.   On August 8th  I saw  Anything  Goes at the Amato Center

it was quite honestly one of the best shows I have seen there. How many shows do you see that get a standing ovation at the end of the first act? Not many I assure you. My favorite musical numbers were Blow Gabriel Blow, It’s Deloverly. Friendship and I Get A Kick Out Of You. Everyone in this company is amazing but standout performances were by  Olivia Vordenberg,  Patrick McKnight, Emily Borne and Julie Harris,. Anything Goes ran at the Amato Center from August 7-9 and was put on by the Riverbend  Youth Company Alumni  Company.   Congrats to  all class of 2014 graduates and best of luck to you all in college. 

PS The PTA did Anything Goes 30 years ago and need to consider doing it again because I think it would be such a fun show to do. Jackie and  Rita   I hope you are reading this   🙂 

I would just like to say that The Little Mermaid has always been my favorite Disney movie of all time. I was very excited when I heard that they doing the Little Mermaid Jr at the Amato Center this summer. Everyone in this group is incredibly talented and I am proud of the whole cast crew and production team on an amazing performance! My favorite songs aside from my ultimate favorite Part of Your World were She’s In Love, Human Stuff and One Step Closer. Great job everyone and I love you all!

Sunday Matt Sonya Jen and I   went to Meredith to go  see  The Wiz at  Interlakes Summer Theatre.  I would have to say that this is probably  high on my list of favorite musicals..  The musical numbers are very up beat and fun to listen too.   My favorite songs were  Ease On Down The Road,  No Bad News and Y’All Got  It.   Stand out performances were by Naisa Thomas, Kellinn   Dicarlo,  Darius Nelson and Darius  Jordan Lee.   Congrats to  the Interlakes  Summer Theate  Intern Company  on a great season. 

 

My audition went well  for  Young  Frankenstien  with Actorsingers  went well. I did not get cast but  I  plan on working backstage  but  I do not know in what capacity yet.    I am also doing props for    Passion  For Dracula at the Amato Center which  I am  excited.  Also  I am joining the Souhegan Valley Chorus which I am very excited about.    Still debating  staying in YMCA Choir…  I think it might be better for my schedule  just to do  SVC.    

Hope everyone is having a great summer.  My birthday is in 9 days. Happy birthday to all fellow thespians  with  August birthdays and  also  congrats to my co-worker Meagan on her wedding this weekend.   🙂

Posted August 20, 2014 by theatretechdiva in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

