Don’t forget to smile and dance the Shipoopi   Leave a comment

 2 show weekends.  Both shows end their runs today and they were fantastic. 

Friday night  I took my mom to see Smile at the Amato Center for a Mother’s Day present.  I make it a goal to try to introduce myself to a new show and I was happy that I chose this one.  This is set in 1985  at   the Young American Miss Beauty Pageant in Santa Rosa California.     What was great about this show is that it’s not very well known and not really done a lot by other theaters so it was a welcome change of pace for me then seeing a show that is done more frequently such as Grease,Chicago or Annie.   This show was a great mix of  funny and touching moments.  Standout performances were by  Alyssa Lederhos, Max Barnaby,  John Sheridan, Meghan McKnight and Nicole  Sprague. Congrats to cast crew and production team on a wonderful show!! 

Smile ran at the Amato Center May 8th-11th and was directed by Elizabeth Moore, music directed by Brian Moore and choreographed  by  Liz Calabria. 

Last night I saw Music Man at Actorsingers with Sonya and Matt.  I had to refrain from making too many comparisons to the production  I was in  with the Amherst PTA   3 years ago.   Like most  Actorsigers shows this  cast  was comprised of a diverse group of talented people.  Aside from the   Quartet and the Pickalittle Ladies  standouts were  Cayden  Plummer as Winthrop Paroo,  Andrew Holland as Tommy Diljas, Katie Tocci as Zaneeta Shinn.  My favorite musical numbers are Shipoopi. Til There Was You, Goodnight My Someone, Gary Indiana  and  My White  Knight.    The chase scene at the end of the play always seems to strike me as  a very emotional scene because  it is when  the realization comes to light for everyone in the audience that Marain and Harold are in love with each other.   

Great job to everyone in  Music Man on  a wonderful production.

Music Man  ran at Keefe Auditiorium at Elm Street Junior High School in Nashua from May 9th-11th  and was directed by  Kathy Lovering, music directed by  Jed Holland and  choreographed by Martha Daniels Holland. 

 

Still searching for song suggestions for my fall auditions.  I have more time to prepare then  I thought because  all the auditions are in August and September.  I have a feeling some auditions may overlap.  Sound of Music auditions  have not been announced yet but are at the end of August.  Young Frankenstien auditions are August 10th and Kiss Me Kate auditions   are sometime in early September.  Most likely I am going to audition for  ensemble for Kiss Me Kate and Young Frakentstien.   I am an alto but can  sing some  soprano parts. Thanks Friends! 

Leave a Reply

