2013 in review   Leave a comment

Hello  Followers and Happy New Year to you all!

Hope everyone has been having a wonderful holiday season.  I can’t believe what how fast 2013 has flown by.  Golly, what a year it’s been.

The biggest highlight was definitely Princess K.I.M. The Musical.  I was so happy to see  my mother’s books bought to life on stage and would like to once again thank everyone involved in the production  for  making this experience so wonderful!  Thank you also to everyone who came to see the show. We are deeply appreciative of all your support and look forward to see what the future has in store for our production.

Being in the PTA Play had to take a back seat this year due to  how busy I was with  Princess  K.I.M.  and I missed being on stage with everyone.    This year I worked backstage  helping out with props and scene changes which was a welcome change of pace.   As I mentioned Meet Me In St Louis was nominated for 4 New Hampshire Theatre Awards.  Best Production, Best Actress Margaret Windler, Best Costume Design   Paula Troie and Suzanne  Potoma and  Best Scenic  Design  Dave Atkinson, Alan Kaplan  and Steve Vordenberg.   Auditions for Suessical The Musical are in a week  and I am very excited. 🙂

On a more personal note  this year has been a rough one.   My grandmother has Alzheimer’s disease and that has been very hard to deal with especially more recently as her health has continued to decline.  I have  been listening to  The Hardest Part Of Love  from Children of Eden  a lot lately as I feel this most relates to the feelings I have experienced with dealing with my grandmother’s disease  and how it has changed her personality so much.  I was also hit by a car on August 19th  while crossing the street… a very scary experience for sure.

What does 2014  have in store?    I have confidence  that it will  be the best year yet.

2014 Theatre Related Goals

See shows at theatres in New Hampshire I have never seen shows at before ( Andy’s Summer Playhouse, Palace Theatre in Manchester)Still a work in progress.. hopefully going to see The Nutcracker at the Palace Theatre @ the end of this month by far my favorite holiday show of all time!
This goal is ongoing. This year I hoping to go see a show at Winnipasaukee Playhouse as well as some at the Palace Theatre, Majestic Theatre, Andy’s Summer Playhouse and Seacoast Rep. I also hope to go see a show at Portland Stage Company in Portland Maine.
2. Get technical experience in areas other than just props.
Another ongoing goal. If I do not get cast in Music Man with Actorsingers I plan to help out with props or lighting. I may also help out backstage with Catch Me If You Can with Stagecoach Productions in June.

3. Introduce myself to at least one new Broadway soundtrack.
New Additions: Shrek The Musical, Company, Children of Eden
Soundtracks that were added to my itunes Library in 2010: A Little Night Music and Jersey Boys Recently added soundtracks: Dreamgirls, Legally Blonde The Musical Gay Bride of Frankenstien, Music Man (mainly for rehearsal puproses)
4. See at least one show @ the Barn Playhouse and one show @ Interlakes Region Theatre this summer. Best of both worlds 2 shows at Interlakes and one at NLBP.
Interlakes Theatre is a given. I try to go see one or two shows there every summer. This summer’s line up at IST is Godspell, 42nd St, Miss Saigon, Hello Dolly and The Wiz. The Wiz is at the top of my list. 🙂 My top choices for shows to see at the Barn include Monty Python’s Spamalot and Kiss Me Kate.

5. Go to see a Broadway show in New York.
This will be a goal to save for next year. This year we are planning to go to Disney World in October to go to the Harry Potter Theme Park at Universal! I have waited 3 years for this vacation! FINALLY!!

6. Join the Souhegan Valley Chorus
I have been in the choir at the YMCA for two years. I have made many new friends in this chorus however I feel I am not challenged enough in the music that we sing. I have been meaning to join the Souhegan Valley Chorus for a couple years and I am hoping I will be able to join it. My work schedule has been the main reason why I haven’t been able to join this chorus. I am hoping I will either be able to work out something with my job at the Y so that way I will be able to go the rehearsals or that one of the jobs I have interviewed for will pull through that has full time hours. Transportation is another issue so I am hoping I will find someone to carpool with. Stagecoach Women’s Chorus has an entry fee I can’t afford right now so SVC is the way to go. 🙂

2014 Viewing Schedule
January Alice In Wonderland Riverbend Youth Company
February
1st Groovin On The Go Riverbend Youth Company
(Tenative) I Love You Because Manchester Community Theatre Players
21st Almost Maine Peacock Players
March
13th 1 Act Play Festival Riverbend School of Theatre Arts
21st Beyond Therapy Milford Area Players
27th Once Upon A Mattress SHS
May If I don’t get cast in Music Man and decide not to work backstage I will usher at both Smile and Music Man. 🙂
Summer SCHEDULE PENDING!

Posted December 31, 2013 by theatretechdiva in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

