Thorughly Modern Millie aritcle   Leave a comment

Thoroughly Modern Millie to be performed at the Amato Center.
 
By Janine Leffler
 
 
 
Get ready for a toe-tapping good time as the Riverbend Youth Company presents their spring production, Thoroughly Modern Millie.  This musical production is a romantic comedy set in the roaring twenties. The 1967 movie version of Thoroughly Modern Milliestarred Julie Andrews.
 
First time Riverbend Youth Company director Liz Moore of Milford is very excited about her directorial debut.  “As the director of the drama program at ConVal Regional High School, I’m used to being responsible for every single aspect of a production from royalties to paperwork to props. It’s incredibly exciting to be able to focus solely on the process of directing. I don’t know that I’ve ever actually had the ability to focus my efforts that way and I love it!”  Moore continued by saying that she is excited about seeing the show come together, “Before April vacation, we had just begun stringing scenes together and running large chunks of material. The kids get to start and see the work each other has been putting in and they start to see this as a real “show”. I think this is the time during the process where we go from having “scenes” and “songs” and “dances” into having a true story.”
 
Emma Benson, a junior at Bedford High School makes her Riverbend Youth Company debut as Millie Dillmont and couldn’t be more excited.“The cast is so accepting and fun, especially of someone who came out of nowhere to do this show. I’m having the time of my life.  Benson continued by discussing her process of developing Millie’s character  “I take it as a challenge to create something unique about how Millie would do that action. It’s difficult to separate ‘what Emma would do’ from ‘what Millie would do’, but it’s proved to be effective when I can isolate them.”
 
For choreographer Liz Calabria the most fulfilling thing about this production has been working with the cast. “Seeing the bonding that happens and the mentoring that occurs among cast members is very rewarding.  This is a very talented group of performers and they all work so well together. “ Calabria continued by saying  “It has been delightful working with Liz Moore and Sally Landis!  I have learned so much from their directing styles and we have had a great time putting this show together.  Assistant Choreographer, Devereaux Merchant is my ‘right hand’ person!”  She is a gem and it is always a pleasure working together with her!” Calabria’s favorite dance to choreograph has been The Speed Test where, she explains, Emma (Millie) takes dictation and types “taps” out a letter on the typewriter with the assistance from the “Stenogs”. “It’s a real toe-tappin piece.”
 
Megan Ostrowski, a freshman at Souhegan High School in Amherst is excited to be in her second Riverbend  production. “The most fulfilling part of this show for me is the opportunity to be a part of such a great group of people who I can learn from every time I walk into rehearsals.”  Ostrowski continued by saying “I like to create a back story for my character and that develops how I deliver the lines or act onstage, to do this  I read about the time period and what a girl around my character’s age would have done/been like.”
 
Milford High School sophomore Megan Hammes shared Ostrowski’s sentiment of being part of such a great group of people.  “It is so encouraging to watch as cast members help each other, both inside and outside of rehearsals, to overcome the challenging aspects of the show together. Hammes went on to say “Having an ensemble role is really fun because your character is like a blank canvas that you get to paint – there’s so much room for creativity! I find my character changes from one rehearsal to the next; I have fun experimenting with different ways to react to situations and little subtle things I can add to a scene just through facial expression and body language.”
 
For all graduating seniors in this production, this show is bittersweet. Bekkah Colclasure shared a memory of moving to Milford from Ohio and being shy but being encouraged by Molly Desmond to audition for her one act in 2009. She advises students who are coming into Riverbend not to be shy. Colclasure continued by saying,“I LOVE playing Muzzy because she is so different from any other part that I have ever played. She’s a very glamorous jazz singer who enjoys the higher things in life…. However, at the same time, she doesn’t let her fame get to her head.”  When it comes to playing her character Cloakasure explained her development process, “My character development has been mostly about building a strong sense of confidence that I believe completely envelops Muzzy as a character.”
 
Thoroughly Modern Millie performs at the Amato Center For The Performing Arts  56 Mt Vernon St  in Milford May 10-12. Evening Performance are at 7:30pm and matinees are on Saturday and Sunday at 1:30pm. You won’t want to miss this hilarious romantic comedy. Tickets are $12 for adults and $8 for students and seniors.
 
To be published in next week’s  Milford Cabinet.
 
 
  NOTE : The Telegraph and Cabinet  was recently purchased by a new owner so at this  stage in the game I do  not know when my next article with them will be published or how much longer  I will still be employed by them.   I am beginning to estimate that  if  they  are cutting thier freelancer budget again then  my job  there may not last much longer.   This makes the future of this blog very uncertain since my main purpose in having this  blog is to keep   a log of my  Cabinet articles.  We shall see what happens.
Posted April 29, 2013 by theatretechdiva in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

