Timeless Beat Article   Leave a comment

Groove through the decades during ‘Timeless Beat’
By Janine Leffler

The Riverbend Youth Company will perform an all dance show called Timeless Beat from February 1st-3rd. This exciting show features a diverse mix of dancers ages 7-17. Some who have been involved in past productions with Riverbend Youth Company and others who have varied years of experience at Kathy Blake Dance studio in Amherst.
Rachel White, a senior at Souhegan High School, is directing Timeless Beat as part of her senior project. Her project focuses on the directing aspects of exceptional leadership, teaching, management, and production. The biggest joy that White gets out of directing the show is seeing the satisfaction her dancers enjoy when they dance. “Seeing a room full of fifty- three kids with smiles on their faces and energy in their movement has to be one of the most rewarding things I have ever experienced. It inspires me beyond words and pushes me to do more of my best as their director and choreographer.” She continued by saying, “As a dancer I know that performance is a gift you leave the audience with and I can’t wait to feel that type of pride as a director. Creating and directing this show has been one of the most amazing experiences of my life and I will cherish it always. I believe in my cast tremendously. They are going to get out there and rock it!”

Annie Murray, a sophomore at Bishop Guertin High School in Nashua has enjoyed the experience of working on her first Riverbend Youth Company show. “The most fulfilling thing about being in Timeless Beat is the fact that I have strengthened so many friendships throughout this show and I’ve also made many new great friendships. It’s been such a great feeling walking into rehearsals and knowing that everyone there just wants to have fun and make this a great show and there aren’t any worries.” Murray continued by saying that her favorite dance is Little Talks. “I absolutely love how emotional it is and I think it’s going to end up looking great on stage. Dancing this number makes me realize how much I love dancing and how much of a stress-reliever it is.”
Megan Ostrowski, who is a freshmen at Souhegan High School has been dancing for five years at Kathy Blake and is very excited to be in Timeless Beat. “I love helping Rachel! I’m so glad that I can be part of her senior project and help her achieve her goals.” Ostrowski continued by saying that her favorite dance is Levels. “It’s so eye-catching and knowing what the audience is seeing and experiencing makes me feel happy and I get into the dance so much more.”
For Megan Hammes, a sophomore at Milford High School what sets Timeless Beat apart from other shows she done with Riverbend is the fact that it is mostly dance. Her favorite dance in the production is Rhythm Nation “It’s honestly filled with so much sass. It’s definitely a little out of my comfort zone, but everything about it is so much fun. I also absolutely love all the people who I have the opportunity to dance with in the number, which makes it all the more enjoyable.” Hammes went on to say “It’s been especially fulfilling to watch the younger kids as they begin to fall in love with being onstage. They’re so talented at what they do, and I think watching them is a good reminder to all of us to keep having fun and keep dancing.”
Timeless Beat runs from February 1st- February 3rd at the Amato Center for the Performing Arts. Evening performances are at 7:30pm on Friday and Saturday and Matinee performances are at 2pm on Saturday and Sunday. Tickets are $12 for Adults and $8 for students and seniors. Groove on down to the Amato Center because you won’t want to miss this show!

Leave a Reply

